Musicologist, born on 29 December 1856 in Leeds, the youngest son of the Rev. Edward Lightwood (1820-1892; e.m. 1841). After leaving Kingswood School he worked as a draper in Lincoln before embarking on a scholastic career. In 1879 he joined his brother E.R. Lightwood in opening Pembroke House, a boarding school in Lytham, Lancs. In 1910 he became the founding editor of The Choir magazine and from then on became the connexional adviser on musical matters (including finding the unique 1761 Snetzler organ for the New Room). His books include Hymn Tunes and their Story (1905), Methodist Music of the eighteenth Century (1927), The Music of the Methodist Hymn-book (1935) and Samuel Wesley, Musician (1937). But none of his five tunes in the 1933 Methodist Hymn Book survived into Hymns and Psalms.