World Methodist Peace Award

The Award was inaugurated by the World Methodist Council at the suggestion of A. Stanley Leyland, to recognize 'persons who, by their courage, creativity and consistency, make exceptional contributions to the cause of reconciliation and peace'. Its first recipient, in 1977, was Saidie Patterson of Northern Ireland. Four other British and Irish Methodists have received the award: Donald Soper (1981), Bert Bissell (1987), Gordon Wilson (1988) and G. Harold Good (2007).